Press "Enter" to skip to content

Classification of Animals


Animal Kingdom

Eukaryotic, multicellular, and heterogeneous organisms are placed in this kingdom. The cell wall is not found in their cells. On the basis of the presence of the notochord, the Animal Kingdom is divided into two parts.

Animals in the non-orthodox non-chordates group lack


Classification of Animals

  1. Porifer 
  • These are immovable organisms that stick on some base.
  • Many holes are found on their entire body called Ostia. Water enters the central spongy cavity of the body through these holes and exits through the large stomatal osculum.
  • Water, oxygen, and food are transmitted in their body through holes.
  • Their body is covered with a rigid covering or external skeleton.
  • Their physical organization is of the cellular level.
  • These are commonly called sponges. These are found in aquatic habitats.
  • Examples are Saikon, Spanzilla, etc.

2. Coelenterata(Nideria)

  • This is an aquatic animal. Their physical organization is tissue level.
  • The body cavity is found in them.
  • Their body is made up of two layers of cells.
  • Examples are hydra, sea anemone, jellyfish, etc.

3. Platyhelminthes

  • These are flattened by the fauna of this association. They are also commonly called flatworms.
  • Most animals of this association are found as parasites in humans and other animals.
  • Their physical organization is organ level. Their body is triangular and bilaterally symmetrical.
  • They lack the actual body cavity.
  • Examples are Lace Worm, Liverflow, Planaria, etc.

4. Escahelmintheus (Nematoda) 

  • The body of the animals of this Union is spherical, so they are called roundworms.
  • These organisms are triangular and bilaterally symmetrical.
  • The tissues are found in them but the organ systems are not fully developed.
  • Examples are roundworm, Bucherer, filaria worm, pinworm, etc.

5. Annelida

  • Animals of this union are aquatic or terrestrial, independent animals, and sometimes parasitic.
  • Their body is divided into clear segments. The actual organs in these are contained in the anatomy.
  • These animals are bilaterally symmetrical and trichoracic.
  • The real body cavity is found in them. Phlegm, digestion, excretion, and nervous system are found in them.
  • Examples of earthworm, leech, neris etc.

6. Arthropoda

  • This is the largest union of the animal kingdom.
  • They have bilateral symmetry and have body segments. It is a triangular and intelligent creature.
  • The open circulatory system is found in these organisms.
  • Their body is segmented and is divided into head, thoracic, and abdominal.
  • Excretions are done by Malpighi tubules. These have legs attached.
  • Examples are shrimp, bee, silkworm, Aedes mosquito, butterfly, maize, spider, scorpion, crab, etc.

7. Mollusca

  • Their body is soft. Armor is found in most mollusk animals.
  • They have bilateral symmetry. Their body is partially fragmented.
  • They have an open cervical system and a kidney-like structure for excretion.
  • Examples are a snail, cuttlefish, oyster, octopus, etc.

8. Echinodermata 

  • A calcium-containing skeleton found in the animals of this kingdom and the skin of these animals is covered with thorns. It is a free-living marine animal.
  • The water body system is the specialty of these animals which is helpful in movement, feeding, and breathing.
  • Examples are starfish, sea urchins, sea cucumbers, etc.

9. Cordetta 

(A) Vertebrata 

  • Real vertebral column and internal skeletons are found in these animals.
  • Vertebrates are bilaterally symmetrical, triploblastic, coelomic, and segmented.
  • Complex differentiation of tissues and organs is found in these animals.
  • They are divided into 5 parts.

(1)  Pisces

  • This is a fish that is found both in the sea and freshwater.
  • Their skin remains covered with shlokas. These contain gills for respiration.
  • They are uneven and lay eggs. Their heart is two-chambered.

(2)  Amphibians 

  • They can live both on water and land.
  • There is a lack of shells on their skin and mucous glands are found.
  • Respiration is through the clome, lungs, and skin.
  • They are uneven and lay eggs. Their heart is three-chambered.
  • Examples are frogs, salamanders, etc.

(3)  Reptiles 

  • These are the most numerous animals in this class.
  • These animals crawl and for this reason, they are called reptiles.
  • Their body is covered with shells.
  • These animals perform respiratory activity through the lungs. Their heart is three-chambered.
  • Examples are snakes, lizards, crocodiles, tortoise, etc.

(4)  Aves

  • All birds are kept in this class.
  • They are an isotypical creature and have a four-chambered heart.
  • This respiratory activity is done by the lungs. They lay eggs.

(5)  Mammalia

  • This class is found in all types of environments.
  • The mammary glands are found in these animals.
  • Their heart is four-chambered. They are equilateral and give birth to a baby.
  • In some exceptions, Echidna and platypus lay eggs.



Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply